VIOLATION	SUMMARY SETTLEMENT AMOUNT	
PAPAHĀNAUMOKUĀKEA MARINE NATIONAL MONUMENT		
Failure of any person to notify NOAA at least 72 hours before entering the Monument or within 12 hours after leaving the Monument.	\$750 - 1 missing entry or exit notification \$1000 - 2 missing entry or exit notifications \$1500 - 3 to 4 missing entry or exit notifications	
WESTERN PACIFIC PELAGIC FISHERIES 50 C.F.R. PART 665, SUBPART B		
Foreign fishing vessel fishing without a permit – Minor violations only (e.g., fishing for personal consumption)	\$1000	
Fail to notify NMFS immediately upon entering and/or exiting the protected species zone	\$500	
Fail to maintain, make, keep, or submit any logbook data (includes failure to record data within 24 hours, failure to submit data withing 72 hours, and other non -substantive violations)	\$500	
Fail to notify NMFS within 12 hours of landing a management unit species	\$500	
Fishing without a general permit (not a limited access permit)	\$500 - < 1 month expired, plus abandonment of fish \$1000 - 1 to 3 months expired, plus abandonment of fish	
Fail to make and/or file all reports of management unit species landings as required by applicable state law or regulation	\$500	

(Revised 2/11/09)

VIOLATION	SUMMARY SETTLEMENT AMOUNT
Fail to properly mark longline floats or maintain vessel markings	\$500
Fail to make required notifications to Pacific Islands Regional Office for observer coverage	\$500
Fail to fish in accordance with seabird take mitigation measures (includes, but not limited to: strategic discard, blue dye bait, bait not thawed)	\$1000
Fail to carry a line clipper, dip net, or dehooker on board a vessel required to carry such tools	\$1000
Fail to have a valid shallow-set certificate for each shallow set made	\$1000, plus \$250 for each additional missing certificate
Fail to use offset circle hooks sized 18/0 or larger hooks when engaged in shallow-set operations	\$1000
Engage in shallow-setting with bait other than mackerel- type bait	\$1000
Possess light sticks on board a vessel during a trip when NMFS has been notified that deep-setting will be done	\$500
Fail to begin the deployment of longline gear at least one hour after sunset or fail to complete setting before sunrise	\$1000

VIOLATION	SUMMARY SETTLEMENT AMOUNT
Interfere with the observers ability to perform his/her duties by cutting lines before observers can identify the species caught	\$1000
Fail to have on board a valid protected species workshop certificate	\$500
Fail to show proof of passing USCG Commercial Fishing Vessel Safety examination or the alternate NMFS safety equipment examination	\$500
Fail to maintain safe conditions for the protection of observers including compliance with all U.S. Coast Guard and other applicable rules, regulations, and statutes	\$1000
WESTERN PACIFIC BOTTOMFISH FISHERY 50 C.F.R. PART 665, SUBPART E	
Catching, possessing, selling, retaining, and/or landing Hawaii prohibited bottomfish during a closure or closed season	\$100/fish (up to 10 fish), plus abandonment of the fish
Catching, possessing, retaining, and/or landing Hawaii prohibited bottomfish in excess of the bag limit, during the open season	\$50/fish (up to 10 fish over the bag limit), plus abandonment of the fish

VIOLATION	SUMMARY SETTLEMENT AMOUNT	
Fishing for Deep 7 species without either a State or Federal permit	\$350, plus \$50/fish for every fish during the open season or \$100/fish for every fish during the closed season (up to 10 fish), plus abandonment of the fish	
MARINE MAMMAL PROTECTION ACT		
Import cans of whale meat	1 to 5 cans - \$250, plus abandonment of the cans of whale meat 6 to 10 cans - \$500, plus abandonment of the cans of whale meat	
HIGH SEAS FISHI	NG COMPLIANCE ACT OF 1995	
Fish on the high seas without a valid high seas permit	\$500	