
SOUTHEAST REGION SUMMARY SETTLEMENT SCHEDULE
	VIOLATION
	VIOLATION HISTORY – PENALTY AMOUNT

	
	FIRST
	SECOND
	THIRD

	
MAGNUSON-STEVENS ACT 


	Undersized and/or Filleted and/or over limit (including zero bag limit and closures)

	
	
	

	1-10 illegal fish
	$250 + $25 per fish (refer to State LEA whenever possible)
	same
	same

	

[bookmark: _GoBack]11-20 illegal fish

	
$500 + $25 per fish
	
same
	
same

	21 - 50 illegal fish
	$750+ $25 per fish
	same
	same

	Exceed Commercial Trip Limits (including zero bag limit commercial closures) (except ITQ)
	
	
	

	The overage exceeds the catch limit by less than 50% OR has a fair market value up to $500
	                 $500 
	same
	same

	The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND has a fair market value of between $500 and $750 
	$750
	$1,000
	$1,250

	The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND  has a fair market value between $751 and $1,000
	$1,000
	$1,250
	$1,500

	The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND has a fair market value between $1,001 and $1,250
	$1,250
	$1,500
	$1,750

	The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND has a fair market value between $1,251 and $1,500
	$1,500
	$1,750
	$2,000

	Trawling
	
	
	

	Texas closure (Incursion less than 1 NM or less than 1 hour before opening date and time): First Violation Only
	$2,500
	
	

	Southwest Florida seasonal trawl closure:  First Violation Only
	$2,500
	
	

	Shrimp/Stone Crab separation zone:  First Violation Only
	$2,500
	
	

	Trap Construction: Subsequent violations: 1 - 20 traps (Note: FIN program for first violation)
	$100/trap
	same
	same

	Net construction: Subsequent violations  (See also FIN program)
	$500
	$750
	same

	Bycatch reduction device (BRD) - not installed, sewn shut, dysfunctional
	$750/net
	same
	same

	Act Without  a Permit/limited Entry  Share/Endorsement/Authorization (not to include shareholder and/or vessel allocation) (See also FIN program)
(Dealers & Fishermen & Vessels)
	
	
	

	Moratorium Permits:  First Violation Only where the permit was never issued 
	$3,000
	
	

	Limited Access and Expired Moratorium Permits
	$750
	$1,000
	$1,500

	General/Open Access Permits  
	$500
	same
	same

	Dealer Failure to Report
	after receipt of notification of late reporting $750 for each overdue time period charged up to 6 time periods; this category can be used again after 1 year without same charged violation  
	$1,000 for each overdue time period charged up to 6 time periods 
  
	$1,500 for each overdue time period charged overdue up to 4 time periods 

	
Fish Without an Observer When Required:  First Violation Only


	$2,500
	
	

	





MARINE MAMMAL PROTECTION ACT

	Feeding a marine mammal in the wild

	$250 (recreational)

$1,000 (commercial)

	
	

	Harassing a marine mammal 	


	$100 (recreational)

$500 (commercial)	

	
	

	Unauthorized importation of marine mammal parts or products (non-commercial imports/personal use)
	
$250
	
	

	
Unauthorized sale, purchase, and/or transport of marine mammal parts or products (non-commercial entities)
	
$250
	
	

	Failing to register any bones, teeth or ivory of any dead marine mammal collected from a beach or from land within 1/4 of a mile of ocean.  The term ocean includes bays and estuaries.  
	
$100
	
	

	
















ENDANGERED SPECIES ACT

	Turtle Excluder Device Violations
(Although law enforcement should document and educate on all violations they could issue only one summary settlement amount per net based on the most serious violation found on that net.  For example: If law enforcement found 3 level one violations on net 1 they could issue a summary settlement for $100 for net 1.  If law enforcement found 2 level one violations and 1 level two violation on net 1 they could issue a summary settlement for $500 for net 1.)
	
	
	

	Any Level I violations including:

TED ANGLE		> 55 to < 58 degrees 

BAR SPACING	Bent bar - > 4” to < 6”

NETTING		Hole / gaps in TED netting < 2”

DOUBLE COVER (DC) OPENING

1  Forward Cut		19” to < 20” 
2 Flap attachment	> 24” to 36” 
3 OVERLAP		> 15 to 16” 
4 Leading Edge Cut	54” to < 56”  

71” OPENING

1 Forward Cut		18” to < 26” 
2 Flap length		> 24” to 36” beyond posterior edge of grid 
3 flap attachment	> 6” to 12” beyond posterior edge of grid
4 Leading edge Cut	54” to < 71” 
5 Escape opening	64” to < 71”

44” INSHORE OPENING

5 Escape Opening	42” to < 44” Horizontally 
			15” to < 20” Vertically
(Numbers correspond to Step Numbers on NOAA’s Guide for Checking TEDs, available at http://www.sefsc.noaa.gov/labs/mississippi/ted/regulations.htm)
	$100 (per net)
	$100 (per net)
	$100 (per net)

	Any Level II violations including:

TED ANGLE		58 to < 61 degrees

BAR SPACING	Bent bar – 6” to < 8”

NETTING		Holes/gaps in TED netting 2” to 4”

FLOTATION		Undersized floats on bottom shooting TEDs



DOUBLE COVER (DC) OPENING

1 Forward Cut		16” to < 19”
2 Flap attachment	> 36”
3 OVERLAP		> 16” to < 18” 
4 Leading Edge Cut	52” to < 54”


71” OPENING

1 Forward Cut		16” to < 18”
2 Flap length		> 36” beyond posterior edge of grid
3 Flap attachment	> 12” beyond posterior edge of grid
4 Leading edge cut	52” to < 54”
5 Escape Opening	44” to < 64”

44” INSHORE OPENING

5 Escape Opening	34” to < 42” Horizontally
			10” to < 15” Vertically
(Numbers correspond to Step Numbers on NOAA’s Guide for Checking TEDs, available at http://www.sefsc.noaa.gov/labs/mississippi/ted/regulations.htm)
	$500 (per net)
	$500 (per net)
	$500 (per net)



Effective Date:  July 1, 2013

