SOUTHEAST REGION SUMMARY SETTLEMENT SCHEDULE

VIOLATION	VIOLATION HISTORY – PENALTY AMOUNT				
	FIRST	SECOND	THIRD		
MAGNUSON-STEVENS ACT					
Undersized and/or Filleted and/or over limit (including zero bag limit and seasonal closures)					
1-10 illegal fish, other than red snapper	\$250 + \$25 per fish (refer to State LEA whenever possible)	\$250 + \$25 per fish (refer to State LEA whenever possible)	\$250 + \$25 per fish (refer to State LEA whenever possible)		
11-20 illegal fish, other than red snapper	\$500 + \$25 per fish	\$500 + \$25 per fish	\$500 + \$25 per fish		
21 - 50 illegal fish, other than red snapper	\$750 + \$25 per fish	\$750 + \$25 per fish	\$750 + \$25 per fish		
1-20 illegal red snapper	\$500 + \$50 per fish	\$500 + \$50 per fish	\$500 + \$50 per fish		
Exceed Commercial Trip Limits (including zero bag limit commercial closures) (except ITQ)					
The overage exceeds the catch limit by less than 50% OR has a fair market value up to \$500	\$500	\$750	\$1000		
The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND has a fair market value of between \$500 and \$750	\$750	\$1,000	\$1,250		
The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND has a fair market value between \$751 and \$1,000	\$1,000	\$1,250	\$1,500		
The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND has a fair market value between \$1,001 and \$1,250	\$1,250	\$1,500	\$1,750		
The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND has a fair market value between \$1,251 and \$1,500	\$1,500	\$1,750	\$2,000		

Trawling			
Texas closure (Incursion less than 1 NM or less than 1 hour	\$2,500	N/A	N/A
before opening date and time): First Violation Only			
Southwest Florida seasonal trawl closure: First Violation Only	\$2,500	N/A	N/A
Shrimp/Stone Crab separation zone: First Violation Only	\$2,500	N/A	N/A
Non-Compliant Trap Construction: 1 - 20 traps	\$100/trap	\$100/trap	\$100/trap
Non-Compliant Net construction	\$500/net	\$750/net	\$750/net
Bycatch reduction device (BRD) - not installed, sewn shut, dysfunctional	\$750/net	\$750/net	\$750/net
Act Without a Permit/limited Entry			
Share/Endorsement/Authorization (not to include			
shareholder and/or vessel allocation)			
(Dealers & Fishermen & Vessels)			
Moratorium Permits: First Violation Only where the permit	\$3,000	N/A	N/A
was never issued	·		
Limited Access and Expired Moratorium Permits	\$750	\$1,000	\$1,500
General/Open Access Permits	\$500	\$500	\$500
Dealer Failure to Report	after receipt of	\$1,000 for each	\$1,500 for
•	notification of	overdue time	each overdue
	late reporting	period charged	time period
	\$750 for each	up to 6 time	charged
	overdue time	periods	overdue up to
	period charged		4 time
	up to 6 time		periods
	periods; this		
	category can		
	be used again		
	after 1 year		
	without same		
	charged		
	violation		
	\$2,500	N/A	N/A
Fish Without an Observer When Required: First Violation Only	Ψ2,300	1 1/71	1 1/ /1

Use unauthorized gear or fail to use gear required by the fishery, e.g. dehooking device and/or non-stainless steel circle hooks	\$250	\$500	\$500
ENDANGERED SPE	CIES ACT		
Turtle Excluder Device Violations			
(Although law enforcement should document and educate on all v settlement amount per net based on the most serious violation four found 3 level one violations on net 1 they could issue a summary found 2 level one violations and 1 level two violation on net 1 the 1.)	and on that net. For settlement for \$100 ey could issue a sur	r example: If law end of for net 1. If law end of the formary settlement for the formary settlement fo	nforcement enforcement or \$500 for net
Any Level I violations including: TED ANGLE > 55 to < 58 degrees	\$100 (per net)	\$100 (per net)	\$100 (per net)
RAR SPACING Rent har - > 4" to < 6"			

Any Level I violatio	ins including.	\$100 (per net)	\$100 (per net)	net)
TED ANGLE	> 55 to < 58 degrees			net)
BAR SPACING	Bent bar - > 4" to < 6"			
WEBBING FLAP N netting 2" to 4"	NETTING Hole / gaps in TED			
DOUBLE COVER	(DC) OPENING			
1 Forward Cut	19" to < 20"			
2 Flap attachment	> 24" to 36"			
3 OVERLAP	> 15 to 16"			
4 Leading Edge Cut	54" to < 56"			
71" OPENING				
1 Forward Cut	18" to < 26"			
2 Flap length: > 24"	to 36" beyond posterior edge of grid			
3 flap attachment: >	6" to 12" beyond posterior edge of grid			
4 Leading edge Cut	54" to < 71"			
5 Escape opening	64" to < 71"			

44" INSHORE OPE	ENING			
5 Escape Opening	42" to < 44" Horizontally			
	15" to < 20" Vertically			
	d to Step Numbers on NOAA's Guide for			
Checking TEDs, avai				
	a.gov/labs/mississippi/ted/regulations.htm)			
Any Level II violation	ons including:	\$500 (per net)	\$500 (per net)	\$500 (per net)
TED ANGLE	58 to < 61 degrees			,
BAR SPACING	Bent bar -6 " to < 8 "			
WEBBING FLAP N netting > 4"	NETTING Holes/gaps in TED			
FLOTATION shooting TEDs	Undersized floats on bottom			
DOUBLE COVER (DC) OPENING				
1 Forward Cut	16" to < 19"			
2 Flap attachment	> 36"			
3 OVERLAP	> 16" to < 18"			
4 Leading Edge Cut				
71" OPENING				
1 Forward Cut	16" to < 18"			
2 Flap length	> 36" beyond posterior edge of grid			
3 Flap attachment	> 12" beyond posterior edge of grid			
4 Leading edge cut	52" to < 54"			
5 Escape Opening	44" to < 64"			
2 Zseape opening				
44" INSHORE OPE	ENING			
5 Escape Opening	34" to < 42" Horizontally			- Filtration Balance

10" to < 15" Vertically		
(Numbers correspond to Step Numbers on NOAA's Guide for		
Checking TEDs, available at		
http://www.sefsc.noaa.gov/labs/mississippi/ted/regulations.htm)		