## SOUTHEAST REGION SUMMARY SETTLEMENT AND FIX-IT SCHEDULE

VIOLATION	VIOLATION HISTORY – PENALTY AMOUNT				
	FIRST	SECOND	THIRD		
MAGNUSON-STEVENS ACT					
Undersized and/or Filleted and/or over limit (including zero bag limit and closures)					
1-10 illegal fish	\$250 + \$25 per fish (refer to State LEA whenever possible)	\$250 + \$25 per fish (refer to State LEA whenever possible)	\$250 + \$25 per fish (refer to State LEA whenever possible)		
11-20 illegal fish	\$500 + \$25 per fish	\$500 + \$25 per fish	\$500 + \$25 per fish		
21 - 50 illegal fish	\$750 + \$25 per fish	\$750 + \$25 per fish	\$750 + \$25 per fish		
Exceed Commercial Trip Limits (including zero bag limit commercial closures) (except ITQ)					
The overage exceeds the catch limit by less than 50% OR has a fair market value up to \$500	\$500	\$750	\$1000		
The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND has a fair market value of between \$500 and \$750	\$750	\$1,000	\$1,250		
The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND has a fair market value between \$751 and \$1,000	\$1,000	\$1,250	\$1,500		
The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND has a fair market value between \$1,001 and \$1,250	\$1,250	\$1,500	\$1,750		
The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND has a fair market value between \$1,251 and \$1,500	\$1,500	\$1,750	\$2,000		
Trawling					
Texas closure (Incursion less than 1 NM or less than 1 hour before opening date and time): First Violation Only	\$2,500	NA	NA		

Southwest Florida seasonal trawl closure: First Violation Only	\$2,500	NA	NA
Shrimp/Stone Crab separation zone: First Violation Only	\$2,500	NA	NA
Non-Compliant Trap Construction: 1 - 20 traps  Non-Compliant Net construction	\$100/trap \$500/net	\$100/trap \$750/net	\$100/trap \$750/net
Bycatch reduction device (BRD) - not installed, sewn shut, dysfunctional	\$750/net	\$750/net	\$750/net
Act Without a Permit/limited Entry Share/Endorsement/Authorization (not to include shareholder and/or vessel allocation) (Dealers & Fishermen & Vessels)			
Moratorium Permits: First Violation Only where the permit was never issued	\$3,000	NA	NA
Limited Access and Expired Moratorium Permits	\$750	\$1,000	\$1,500
General/Open Access Permits	\$500	\$500	\$500
Dealer Failure to Report	after receipt of notification of late reporting \$750 for each overdue time period charged up to 6 time periods; this category can be used again after 1 year without same charged violation	\$1,000 for each overdue time period charged up to 6 time periods	\$1,500 for each overdue time period charged overdue up to 4 time periods
Fish Without an Observer When Required: First Violation Only	\$2,500	NA	NA
Use unauthorized gear or fail to use gear required by the fishery, e.g. dehooking device and/or non-stainless steel circle hooks	\$250	\$500	\$500

## **ENDANGERED SPECIES ACT**

## **Turtle Excluder Device Violations**

(Although law enforcement should document and educate on all violations they could issue only one summary settlement amount per net based on the most serious violation found on that net. For example: If law enforcement found 3 level one violations on net 1 they could issue a summary settlement for \$100 for net 1. If law enforcement found 2 level one violations and 1 level two violation on net 1 they could issue a summary settlement for \$500 for net 1.)

Any Level I violations including:			
<b>TED ANGLE</b> > 55 to < 58 degrees			
<b>BAR SPACING</b> Bent bar $-> 4$ " to $< 6$ "			
<b>WEBBING FLAP NETTING</b> Hole / gaps in TED netting 2" to 4"			
DOUBLE COVER (DC) OPENING 1 Forward Cut 19" to < 20"			
2 Flap attachment > 24" to 36"			
3 OVERLAP > 15 to 16"			
4 Leading Edge Cut 54" to < 56"	\$100 (non not)		
	\$100 (per net)	\$100 (per net)	\$100 (per net)
71" OPENING			
1 Forward Cut: 18" to < 26"			
2 Flap length: > 24" to 36" beyond posterior edge of grid			
3 flap attachment: > 6" to 12" beyond posterior edge of grid			
4 Leading edge Cut: 54" to < 71"			
5 Escape opening: 64" to < 71"			
44" INSHORE OPENING			
5 Escape Opening 42" to < 44" Horizontally			
15" to < 20" Vertically			
13 to \ 20 Vertically			
(Numbers correspond to Step Numbers on NOAA's Guide for			
Checking TEDs, available at			
http://www.sefsc.noaa.gov/labs/mississippi/ted/regulations.htm)			

Any Level II violation	ons including:			
TED ANGLE	58 to < 61 degrees			
BAR SPACING	Bent bar $-6$ " to $< 8$ "			
WEBBING FLAP N	NETTING Holes/gaps in TED netting > 4"			
FLOTATION	Undersized floats on bottom shooting TEDs			
DOUBLE COVER	(DC) OPENING			
1 Forward Cut 2 Flap attachment 3 OVERLAP 4 Leading Edge Cut 71" OPENING  1 Forward Cut 2 Flap length 3 Flap attachment 4 Leading edge cut 5 Escape Opening	> 16" to < 18"	\$500 (per net)	\$500 (per net)	\$500 (per net)
44" INSHORE OPE	ENING			
5 Escape Opening	34" to < 42" Horizontally 10" to < 15" Vertically			
Checking TEDs, avai	d to Step Numbers on NOAA's Guide for ilable at:  a.gov/labs/mississippi/ted/regulations.htm)			