PACIFIC ISLANDS REGION SUMMARY SETTLEMENT SCHEDULE

	
VIOLATION
	
VIOLATION HISTORY – PENALTY AMOUNT
FIRST VIOLATION

	
PAPAHĀNAUMOKUĀKEA MARINE NATIONAL MONUMENT


	
Failure of any person to notify NOAA at least 72 hours before entering the Monument or within 12 hours after leaving the Monument. 
	
$750 - 1 missing entry or exit notification
$1000 - 2 missing entry or exit notifications
$1500 - 3 to 4 missing entry or exit notifications

	
WESTERN PACIFIC PELAGIC FISHERIES
50 C.F.R. PART 665, SUBPART B

	
Foreign fishing vessel fishing without a permit – Minor violations only (e.g., fishing for personal consumption)
	

$1000 

	
Fail to notify NMFS immediately upon entering and/or exiting the protected species zone 
	

$500

	
Fail to maintain, make, keep, or submit any logbook data (includes failure to record data within 24 hours, failure to submit data within 72 hours, and other non
-substantive violations) 
	



$500

	
Fail to notify NMFS within 12 hours of landing a management unit species
	

$500

	
Fail to make and/or file all reports of management unit species landings as required by applicable state law or regulation 
	


$500

	

Fail to properly mark longline floats or maintain vessel markings
	

$500

	
Fail to make required notifications to Pacific Islands Regional Office for observer coverage
	

$500

	
Fail to fish in accordance with seabird take mitigation measures (includes, but not limited to: strategic discard, blue dye bait, bait not thawed)
	


$1000

	
Fail to carry a line clipper, dip net, or dehooker on board a vessel required to carry such tools
	

$1000

	
Fail to have a valid shallow-set certificate for each shallow set made
	

$1000, plus $250 for each additional missing certificate

	
Fail to use offset circle hooks sized 18/0 or larger hooks when engaged in shallow-set operations
	

$1000

	
Engage in shallow-setting with bait other than mackerel-type bait
	

$1000

	
Possess light sticks on board a vessel during a trip when NMFS has been notified that deep-setting will be done
	

$500

	
Fail to begin the deployment of longline gear at least one hour after sunset or fail to complete setting before sunrise when engaged in shallow-setting operations
	


$1000

	
Fail to have on board a valid protected species workshop certificate
	

$500

	Fish without a valid Hawaii Longline Limited Entry Permit (only if vessel would otherwise be eligible for a HLLE permit)

	$1000

	
WESTERN PACIFIC BOTTOMFISH FISHERY
50 C.F.R. PART 665, SUBPART E

	
Catching, possessing, selling, retaining, and/or landing Hawaii prohibited bottomfish during a closure or closed season
	


$100/fish (up to 10 fish), plus abandonment of the fish

	
Catching, possessing, retaining, and/or landing Hawaii prohibited bottomfish in excess of the bag limit, during the open season
	


$50/fish (up to 10 fish over the bag limit), plus abandonment of the fish

	
Fishing for Deep 7 species without either a State or Federal permit
	
$350, plus $50/fish for every fish during the open season
 or $100/fish for every fish during the closed season (up to 10 fish), 
plus abandonment of the fish

	




[bookmark: _GoBack]MARINE MAMMAL PROTECTION ACT


	
Import cans of whale meat
	
1 to 5 cans - $250, plus abandonment of the cans of whale meat
6 to 10 cans - $500, plus abandonment of the cans of whale meat

	

WESTERN AND CENTRAL PACIFIC FISHERIES CONVENTION IMPLEMENTATION ACT


	Fish without a valid WCPFC Area Endorsement
	$1,000

	Fail to carry on board and monitor communication devices
	$500




Effective Date: July 1, 2013
