NATIONAL SUMMARY SETTLEMENT & FIX-IT SCHEDULE

VIOLATION

VIOLATION HISTORY — PENALTY AMOUNT

FIRST SECOND THIRD
MAGNUSON-STEVENS ACT
Fix-It Notice (within $g?/g$rnl;'l:8y’ ttoralpd
Failure to mark gear or improperly marked gear 30 days, or prior to bp ' P NA
. uoys, traps, pots or
next trip)
nets
. . . . . Fix-It Notice (within
Failure to af_flx and maintain vessel markings (void of all 30 days, or prior to $100 $250
vessel markings) .
next trip)
Failure to monitor channel 16 (except in Alaska) $250 $500 NA
Failure to provide a safe boarding ladder (except in Alaska) $250 $500 NA
$400/day, up to a
Failure to maintain operating VMS unit (Dockside only) $400 maximum of 7 days NA
($2,800)
Eﬁ:lure to declare the proper fishing code in the vessel's VMS $250 $750 NA
Failure to submit any of the following reports, when required
to do so by regulation: declaration report, VMS activation $400 $500 NA

report, or VMS exemption report

Effective Date: October 27, 2015




Interfere with the observers ability to perform his/her duties
such as cutting lines before observers can identify the species $1000 NA NA
caught, fail to assist in safely releasing protected species, etc.
Fail to show proof of passing USCG Commercial Fishing
Vessel Safety examination or the alternate NMFS safety $500 $1.000 NA
equipment examination :
Fail to maintain safe conditions for the protection of
observers including compliance with all U.S. Coast Guard

. . $1000 NA NA
and other applicable rules, regulations, and statutes
Fail to provide appropriate accommodations for observer $1000 NA NA
VMS unit not reporting while vessel in use — Single Trip $2.000 NA NA
Vessel fishing without VMS installed — Single Trip $4,000 NA NA
EM system for vessel permitted for Atlantic HMS with
pelagic longline onboard but not operational while vessel in $2.000 NA NA
use — Single Trip '
Vessel permitted for Atlantic HMS with pelagic longline
onboard fishing without EM installed — Single Trip $4,000 NA NA
Non-fishing prohibited activity in a closed area, including,
for example, non-continuous transit (drifting) or incursion $500 $750 $1,000
incidental to gear malfunction.
Fal_l to collect or submit fees under a buyback program — Fix-it Notice NA NA
delinquent for less than 3 months.

Effective Date: October 27, 2015




. . . , . Fix-It Notice
Eallure to provide a current valid NOAA Operator's Permit (onboard prior to $250 $500
(issued and current, but not on board) g
next trip)
Failure to provide a current valid NOAA Vessel Permit Fix-It Notice
and/or Letter of Authorization (issued and current, but not on (onboard prior to $250 $500
board) next trip)
. . . , . Fix-It Notice (on
F_allure to provide a current valid NOAA Dealer’s Permit premises within 30 $250 $500
(issued and current, but not on the premises) days)
Fix-It Notice (report
Failure to report permit changes to NMFS changes within 30 $250 $500
days)
Fix-It Notice (attend
. . workshop within 120
Failure to attend a required workshop days or first available $250 $500
workshop)
Failure to maintain, make, keep, submit or complete required
dealer reports, log book reports, trip reports, or catch reports $500 $750 NA
(if no related violation)
$1,000/fish
Failure to land sharks with their fins naturally attached (up to a maximum of NA NA
five fish)
Possession, landing or transfer of a shark fin that is not $500/fin
; . NA NA
naturally attached to the corresponding carcass (up to a maximum of
ten fins)

Effective Date: October 27, 2015




Fail to electronically submit an Atlantic HMS dealer report
through an HMS electronic dealer reporting system (e.g.,
eDealer or Individual Bluefin Quota system) to report BAYS

tunas, swordfish, sharks, and/or BFT to NMFS in accordance $1,000 $2,000 $3,000
with 8 635.5 and 635.15, if issued, or required to be issued, a
Federal Atlantic HMS dealer permit pursuant to § 635.4.
Purchasing Atlantic HMS when electronic dealer reports
have not been submitted as required $3,000 $4,000 NA
Failure to report taking of Atlantic tuna tagged under a tag $250 $500 NA
and release program

. : . : I Fix-It Notice
Egﬁltl;rii;? write Atlantic bluefin tuna tag number on shipping (immediately record $250 $500

number on container)

Fishing with some, but not all, of the required sea turtle safe $1,500 NA NA
handling and release equipment
Failure of a vessel permitted in Atlantic HMS fisheries with
longline or gillnet gear onboard to safely release using $1500 NA NA
handling and release equipment any protected species
Failure of a vessel permitted in Atlantic HMS fisheries with
bottom longline gear onboard to use the equipment to release $500 NA NA
any prohibited shark.
Failure to maintain Atlantic HMS in specified form (other (U to$a7;0a/>f<lisrrr:um of $1,000/fish NA
than shark finning). P five fish) (up to five fish)

Effective Date: October 27, 2015




Fish for, catch, possess, retain, or land Atlantic sharks

$250 if no fish
retained or $250/fish

$500 if no fish
retained or $500/fish

without a valid permit (up to a maximum of | (up to a maximum of NA
five fish) five fish)
$500 if no fish $750 if no fish
Fish for, catch, possess, retain, or land Atlantic tunas (except | retained or $500/fish | retained or $750/fish NA
bluefin tuna), swordfish, or sailfish without a valid permit (up to a maximum of | (up to a maximum of
five fish) five fish)
Fish for, catch, possess, retain, or land Atlantic bluefin tuna,
blue marlin, white marlin, or roundscale spearfish without a $2000 NA NA
valid permit
Retain or possess undersized Atlantic HMS $500/f'.8h $1,000/fish
(up to a maximum of (up to five fish) NA
five fish) P
Possess, retain, or land Atlantic HMS that were caught with $250./f'8h (up toa $500./ fish (up toa
. maximum of five maximum of five NA
an unauthorized gear : X
fish) fish)
Sale, attempted sale, purchase, or attempted purchase of $750/ f'.Sh $1000/ f.'Sh
. . e (up to a maximum of | (up to a maximum of
Atlantic HMS without a commercial fishing and/or dealer o O NA
. five fish), plus five fish), plus
permit . .
abandon/seize abandon/seize
$100/fish over the $200/fish over the
Exceed recreational retention limit for Atlantic HMS limit, up to 5 fish, plus | limit, up to 5 fish, plus NA
abandon/seize overage | abandon/seize overage
$750/fish $1000/fish
Exceed commercial retention limit for Atlantic HMS (up to a maximum of | (up to a maximum of NA

five fish), plus
abandon/seize

five fish), plus
abandon/seize

Effective Date: October 27, 2015




Retain or possess Atlantic sandbar sharks outside the shark
research fishery, prohibited sharks or longbill spearfish

$1000

1500

NA

Retain, possess, sell, attempt to sell, purchase, or attempt to
purchase great, smooth, or scalloped hammerhead sharks,
oceanic whitetip sharks, or silky sharks when Atlantic tunas,
swordfish, or billfish are onboard or being offloaded

$1000

$1500

NA

Failure to register an Atlantic HMS tournament

$1000

NA

NA

Failure of an Atlantic HMS tournament to report tournament
landings if the tournament is selected to report

$1000

NA

NA

Failure of an angler to report dead discards of Atlantic
bluefin tuna or landings of Atlantic bluefin tuna, swordfish
or billfish (non-tournament, not sold)

$250

$500

NA

Departing on a trip with pelagic longline gear onboard
without the minimum IBQ allocation for Atlantic bluefin
tuna (0.25 metric ton (mt) whole weight (ww) for Gulf of
Mexico; 0.125 mt ww for Atlantic)

$1500

$2500

NA

Importing, exporting or re-exporting bluefin tuna, southern
bluefin tuna, frozen bigeye tuna, swordfish or shark fins
without an international trade permit

$4,000

NA

NA

Importing, exporting or re-exporting bluefin tuna, southern
bluefin tuna, frozen bigeye tuna or swordfish without the
required documentation

$2,000

NA

NA

Failure to timely submit required reports of imports, exports
and re-exports of bluefin tuna, southern bluefin tuna, frozen
bigeye tuna or swordfish

$1,000

$1,500

NA

Effective Date: October 27, 2015




Possession of live baitfish, maintenance of live baitfish in a

wel! or tank, or attachment of an aeration or watt_ar C|rcu!at|on $3,000 NA NA

device to any such tank or well onboard a pelagic longline

vessel in the Gulf of Mexico

Failure to release Atlantic HMS in the manner specified $500 $600 $750

Commercial seafood dealer/seafood processor - possess

HMS without required documentation $1,000 $1,500 NA

Retain a billfish by a vessel with a pelagic longline aboard or

harvested by gear other than rod and reel $1,000 $1,500 NA
ANTARCTIC MARINE LIVING RESOURCES PROTECTION ACT

Submission of application for preapproval to import frozen

Dissostichus spp. later than required, but prior to import $2,000 $3,000 NA

MARINE MAMMAL PROTECTION ACT

Feeding a marine mammal in the wild $500 NA NA

Level A/B Harassment — other than feeding (e.g., direct

contact of marine mammals by humans, unauthorized

removal/rescues, allowing pets to harass marine mammals, or $100 $500 NA

any other action that causes a significant change or response

in a marine mammal's behavior)

Effective Date: October 27, 2015




Import canned whale meat:

. * *
1to 5 cans: $250 $500 NA
6 to 10 cans: $500* $1000* NA
*plus abandonment *plus abandonment
of whale meat of whale meat
Unauthorized importation, possession, sale, purchase, and/or
transport of marine mammal parts or products (non- $250 NA NA
commercial entities or for personal use)
Failing to register any bones, teeth or ivory of any dead
marine mammal collected from a beach or from land within
1/4 of a mile of ocean. The term ocean includes bays and $100 NA NA
estuaries.
Fallqre to report 'the taking of a marine mammal (all vessels $750 NA NA
on List of Fisheries)
Failure to register for annual Authorization Certificate
(MMPA Category | and 11 fisheries only) $750 NA NA
Failure to have MMPA Take Authorization Certificate on Fix-It Notice
board vessel (MMPA Category | and |1 fisheries only) (onboard prior to $250 $500
(issued and current, but not on board) next trip)
Fix-It Notice
. . (onboard or
Failure to display annual MMPA decal requested prior to $250 $500
next trip)
Fail to use gear required by ALWTRP $500 NA NA

Effective Date: October 27, 2015




INTERNATIONAL DOLPHIN CONSERVATION PROGRAM ACT (MMPA TITLE I11)

Recordkeeping, reporting, or Fishery Certificate of Origin
requirement violations: Minor Violations (e.g., fail to submit $500 $500 NA
report)
LACEY ACT
Commercial violations
(involving contraband fish or wildlife valued less than $10,000)
Fix-1t Notice
. . : L (immediately
Inadequate or improper marking of containers containing fish properly mark $250 $500
container)
To import, export, transport, sell, receive, acquire, or
purchase in interstate or foreign commerce — (A) any fish or
wildlife taken, possessed, transported, or sold in violation of $2,000 NA NA
any law or regulation of any State or in violation of any
foreign law.
Within the special maritime and territorial jurisdiction of the
United States -- (A) to possess any fish or wildlife taken,
possessed, transported, or sold in violation of any law or $2,000 NA NA
regulation of any State or in violation of any foreign law or
Indian tribal law.
To attempt to commit any act described in paragraphs (2) and NA NA
(3) of 83372(a) $2,000

Effective Date: October 27, 2015




Recreational violations

To import, export, transport, sell, receive, acquire, or
purchase in interstate or foreign commerce — (A) any fish or
wildlife taken, possessed, transported, or sold in violation of $500 NA NA
any law or regulation of any State or in violation of any
foreign law.
Within the special maritime and territorial jurisdiction of the
United States -- (A) to possess any fish or wildlife taken,
possess_ed, transported, or _solc! in \{lolatlon of any law or $500 NA NA
regulation of any State or in violation of any foreign law or
Indian tribal law.
ENDANGERED SPECIES ACT

Approach right whales or fail to take required right whale
avoidance measures

Recreational: $500 NA NA

Commercial: $1000 NA NA
Collecting parts (Endangered or Threatened) $250 NA NA
Import/Export for personal use (Endangered or Threatened) $500 NA NA
IS—(I)arassment (Endangered or Threatened) or an attempt to do $750 NA NA

Effective Date: October 27, 2015




HIGH SEAS FISHING COMPLIANCE ACT OF 1995

Fish on the high seas without a valid high seas permit

$1000 plus forfeiture
of unlawful catch or
payment of FMV

NA

NA

Effective Date: October 27, 2015




