NATIONAL SUMMARY SETTLEMENT & FIX-IT SCHEDULE

VIOLATION	VIOLATION HISTORY – PENALTY AMOUNT		
	FIRST	SECOND	THIRD
MAGNUS	ON-STEVENS ACT		
Failure to mark gear or improperly marked gear	Fix-It Notice (within 30 days, or prior to next trip)	\$50/per buoy, trap, pot, or net up to 10 buoys, traps, pots or nets	NA
Failure to affix and maintain vessel markings (void of all vessel markings)	Fix-It Notice (within 30 days, or prior to next trip)	\$100	\$250
Failure to monitor channel 16 (except in Alaska)	\$250	\$500	NA
Failure to provide a safe boarding ladder (except in Alaska)	\$250	\$500	NA
Failure to maintain operating VMS unit (Dockside only)	\$400	\$400/day, up to a maximum of 7 days (\$2,800)	NA
Failure to declare the proper fishing code in the vessel's VMS unit	\$250	\$750	NA
Failure to submit any of the following reports, when required to do so by regulation: declaration report, VMS activation report, or VMS exemption report	\$400	\$500	NA
Interfere with the observers ability to perform his/her duties such as cutting lines before observers can identify the species caught, fail to assist in safely releasing protected species, etc.	\$1000	NA	NA

Fail to show proof of passing USCG Commercial Fishing Vessel Safety examination or the alternate NMFS safety equipment examination	\$500	\$1,000	NA
Fail to maintain safe conditions for the protection of observers including compliance with all U.S. Coast Guard and other applicable rules, regulations, and statutes	\$1000	NA	NA
Fail to provide appropriate accommodations for observer	\$1000	NA	NA
VMS unit not reporting while vessel in use – Single Trip	\$2,000	NA	NA
Vessel fishing without VMS installed – Single Trip	\$4,000	NA	NA
Non-fishing prohibited activity in a closed area, including, for example, non-continuous transit (drifting) or incursion incidental to gear malfunction.	\$500	\$750	\$1,000
Fail to collect or submit fees under a buyback program – delinquent for less than 3 months.	Fix-it Notice	NA	NA
Failure to provide a current valid NOAA Operator's Permit (issued and current, but not on board)	Fix-It Notice (onboard prior to next trip)	\$250	\$500
Failure to provide a current valid NOAA Vessel Permit and/or Letter of Authorization (issued and current, but not on board)	Fix-It Notice (onboard prior to next trip)	\$250	\$500
Failure to provide a current valid NOAA Dealer's Permit (issued and current, but not on the premises)	Fix-It Notice (on premises within 30 days)	\$250	\$500
Failure to report permit changes to NMFS	Fix-It Notice (report changes within 30 days)	\$250	\$500

Failure to attend a required workshop	Fix-It Notice (attend workshop within 120 days or first available workshop)	\$250	\$500
Failure to maintain, make, keep, submit or complete required dealer reports, log book reports, trip reports, or landing	¢250	¢500	NA
reports (if no related violation) Failure to land sharks with their fins naturally attached	\$250 \$1,000/fish (up to a maximum of five fish)	\$500 NA	NA
Possession, landing or transfer of a shark fin that is not naturally attached to the corresponding carcass	\$500/fin (up to a maximum of ten fins)	NA	NA
Fail to electronically submit an Atlantic HMS dealer report through the HMS electronic dealer reporting system to report BAYS tunas, swordfish, and sharks to NMFS in accordance with § 635.5, if issued, or required to be issued, a Federal Atlantic HMS dealer permit pursuant to § 635.4.	\$1,000	\$2,000	\$3,000
Purchasing Atlantic HMS when electronic dealer reports have not been submitted as required	\$3,000	\$4,000	NA
Failure to report taking of Atlantic tuna tagged under a tag and release program	\$1,000	NA	NA
Failure to write Atlantic bluefin tuna tag number on shipping container	Fix-It Notice (immediately record number on container)	\$250	\$500
Fishing with some, but not all, of the required sea turtle safe handling and release equipment	\$1,500	NA	NA

Failure to maintain Atlantic HMS in specified form (other than shark finning).	\$750/fish (up to a maximum of five fish)	\$1,000/fish (up to five fish)	NA
Fish for, catch, retain, or possess undersized Atlantic HMS	\$750/fish (up to a maximum of five fish)	\$1,000/fish (up to five fish)	NA
Recreationally fish for, catch, possess, retain, or land Atlantic HMS without a valid permit	\$2,000	NA	NA
Exceed recreational catch limit for HMS	\$100/fish over the limit, up to 5 fish, plus abandon/seize overage	\$200/fish over the limit, up to 5 fish, plus abandon/seize overage	NA
Failure to register an HMS tournament	\$2000	NA	NA
Failure to report recreationally caught Atlantic Bluefin tuna, swordfish or billfish (non-tournament)	\$500	NA	NA
Importing, exporting or re-exporting bluefin tuna, southern bluefin tuna, frozen bigeye tuna, swordfish or shark fins without an international trade permit	\$4,000	NA	NA
Importing, exporting or re-exporting bluefin tuna, southern bluefin tuna, frozen bigeye tuna or swordfish without the required documentation	\$2,000	NA	NA
Failure to timely submit required reports of imports, exports and re-exports of bluefin tuna, southern bluefin tuna, frozen bigeye tuna or swordfish	\$1,000	\$1,500	NA
Possession of live baitfish, maintenance of live baitfish in a well or tank, or attachment of an aeration or water circulation device to any such tank or well onboard a pelagic longline vessel in the Gulf of Mexico	\$3,000	NA	NA

Failure to release Atlantic HMS in the manner specified	\$500	\$600	\$750
Commercial seafood dealer/seafood processor - possess HMS without required documentation	\$1,000	\$1,500	NA
Retain a billfish by a vessel with a pelagic longline aboard or harvested by gear other than rod and reel	\$1,000	\$1,500	NA
ANTARCTIC MARINE LIVI	NG RESOURCES PRO	DTECTION ACT	
Submission of application for preapproval to import frozen <i>Dissostichus</i> spp. later than required, but prior to import	\$2,000	\$3,000	NA
MARINE MAMN	MAL PROTECTION A	СТ	
Feeding a marine mammal in the wild	\$500	NA	NA
Level A/B Harassment – other than feeding (e.g., direct contact of marine mammals by humans, unauthorized removal/rescues, allowing pets to harass marine mammals, or any other action that causes a significant change or response in a marine mammal's behavior)	\$100	\$500	NA
Import canned whale meat: 1 to 5 cans:	\$250*	\$500*	NA
6 to 10 cans:	\$500* *plus abandonment of whale meat	\$1000* *plus abandonment of whale meat	NA

Unauthorized importation, possession, sale, purchase, and/or	\$250	NA	NA
transport of marine mammal parts or products (non-			
commercial entities or for personal use)			
Failing to register any bones, teeth or ivory of any dead	\$100	NA	NA
marine mammal collected from a beach or from land within			
1/4 of a mile of ocean. The term ocean includes bays and			
estuaries.			
Failure to report the taking of a marine mammal (all vessels	\$750	NA	NA
on List of Fisheries)			
Failure to register for annual Authorization Certificate	\$750	NA	NA
(MMPA Category I and II fisheries only)			
Failure to have MMPA Take Authorization Certificate on	Fix-It Notice	\$250	\$500
board vessel (MMPA Category I and II fisheries only)	(onboard prior to		
(issued and current, but not on board)	next trip)		
Failure to display annual MMPA decal	Fix-It Notice	\$250	\$500
	(onboard or		
	requested prior to		
	next trip)		
Fail to use gear required by ALWTRP	\$500	NA	NA
INTERNATIONAL DOLPHIN CONSER	RVATION PROGRAM A	ACT (MMPA TITLE	2 III)
Recordkeeping, reporting, or Fishery Certificate of Origin	\$500	\$500	NA
requirement violations: Minor Violations (e.g., fail to submit			

LACEY ACT				
Fix-It Notice (immediately properly mark container)	\$250	\$500		
\$2,000				
\$2,000	NA	NA		
\$2,000	NA	NA		
\$500	NA	NA		
	Fix-It Notice (immediately properly mark container) \$2,000 \$2,000 \$2,000	Fix-It Notice (immediately properly mark container)\$250\$2,000\$2,000\$2,000NA\$2,000NA\$2,000NA\$2,000NA		

Within the special maritime and territorial jurisdiction of the United States (A) to possess any fish or wildlife taken, possessed, transported, or sold in violation of any law or regulation of any State or in violation of any foreign law or Indian tribal law.	\$500	NA	NA
ENDANG	ERED SPECIES ACT		
Approach right whales or fail to take required right whale avoidance measures			
Recreational	\$500		
	<i>\$200</i>	NA	NA
Commercial	\$1000		
Collecting parts (Endangered or Threatened)	\$250	NA	NA
Import/Export for personal use (Endangered or Threatened)	\$500	NA	NA
Harassment (Endangered or Threatened) or an attempt to do	\$750	NA	NA
so			
HIGH SEAS FISHING	G COMPLIANCE ACT	Г ОF 1995	
Fish on the high seas without a valid high seas permit	\$1000 plus forfeiture of unlawful catch or payment of FMV	NA	NA