NATIONAL SUMMARY SETTLEMENT & FIX-IT SCHEDULE

	VIOLATION
	VIOLATION HISTORY – PENALTY AMOUNT

	
	FIRST
	SECOND
	THIRD

	
MAGNUSON-STEVENS ACT


	Failure to mark gear or improperly marked gear
	Fix-It Notice (within 30 days, or prior to next trip)
	$50/per buoy, trap, pot, or net up to 10 buoys, traps, pots or nets
	NA

	Failure to affix and maintain vessel markings (void of all vessel markings)
	Fix-It Notice (within 30 days, or prior to next trip)
	$100
	$250

	Failure to monitor channel 16 (except in Alaska)
	$250 
	$500 
	NA

	Failure to provide a safe boarding ladder (except in Alaska)
	$250 
	$500 
	NA

	Failure to maintain operating VMS unit (Dockside only)
	$400
	$400/day, up to a maximum of 7 days ($2,800)
	NA

	Failure to declare the proper fishing code in the vessel's VMS unit
	$250 
	$750                                   
	NA

	Failure to submit any of the following reports, when required to do so by regulation: declaration report, VMS activation report, or VMS exemption report
	$400
	$500
	NA

	Interfere with the observers ability to perform his/her duties such as cutting lines before observers can identify the species caught, fail to assist in safely releasing protected species, etc.
	$1000
	NA
	NA

	Fail to show proof of passing USCG Commercial Fishing Vessel Safety examination or the alternate NMFS safety equipment examination
	
$500
	
$1,000
	
NA

	Fail to maintain safe conditions for the protection of observers including compliance with all U.S. Coast Guard and other applicable rules, regulations, and statutes
	
$1000
	
NA
	
NA

	Fail to provide appropriate accommodations for observer
	$1000
	NA
	NA

	
VMS unit not reporting while vessel in use – Single Trip

	
$2,000
	NA
	NA

	Vessel fishing without VMS installed – Single Trip
	$4,000
	NA
	NA

	
Non-fishing prohibited activity in a closed area, including, for example, non-continuous transit (drifting) or incursion incidental to gear malfunction. 
	
$500
	
$750
	
$1,000

	Fail to collect or submit fees under a buyback program – delinquent for less than 3 months.
	Fix-it Notice
	NA
	NA

	Failure to provide a current valid NOAA Operator's Permit (issued and current, but not on board)
	Fix-It Notice (onboard prior to next trip)
	$250
	$500

	Failure to provide a current valid NOAA Vessel Permit and/or Letter of Authorization (issued and current, but not on board)
	Fix-It Notice (onboard prior to next trip)
	$250
	$500

	Failure to provide a current valid NOAA Dealer’s Permit (issued and current, but not on the premises)
	Fix-It Notice (on premises within 30 days)
	$250
	$500

	Failure to report permit changes to NMFS
	Fix-It Notice (report changes within 30 days)
	$250
	$500

	Failure to attend a required workshop
	Fix-It Notice (attend workshop within 120 days or first available workshop)
	$250
	$500

	Failure to maintain, make, keep, submit or complete required dealer reports, log book reports, trip reports, or landing reports (if no related violation)
	

$250 
	

$500 
	NA

	Failure to land sharks with their fins naturally attached
	$1,000/fish
(up to a maximum of five fish)
	NA
	NA

	
Possession, landing or transfer of a shark fin that is not naturally attached to the corresponding carcass

	
$500/fin
(up to a maximum of ten fins)
	NA
	NA

	
Fail to electronically submit an Atlantic HMS dealer report through the HMS electronic dealer reporting system to report BAYS tunas, swordfish, and sharks to NMFS in accordance with § 635.5, if issued, or required to be issued, a Federal Atlantic HMS dealer permit pursuant to § 635.4. 

	
$1,000
	
$2,000
	
$3,000

	 Purchasing Atlantic HMS when electronic dealer reports have not been submitted as required
	
$3,000
	
$4,000
	
NA

	
Failure to report taking of Atlantic tuna tagged under a tag and release program
	
$1,000
	NA
	NA

	Failure to write Atlantic bluefin tuna tag number on shipping container
	Fix-It Notice (immediately record number on container)
	$250
	$500

	
Fishing with some, but not all, of the required sea turtle safe handling and release equipment 
	
$1,500
	NA
	NA

	
Failure to maintain Atlantic HMS in specified form (other than shark finning).
	
$750/fish
(up to a maximum of five fish)
	
$1,000/fish
(up to five fish)
	
NA

	
Fish for, catch, retain, or possess undersized Atlantic HMS 
	
$750/fish
(up to a maximum of five fish)
	
$1,000/fish
(up to five fish)
	
NA

	
Recreationally fish for, catch, possess, retain, or land Atlantic HMS without a valid permit
	
$2,000
	NA
	NA

	Exceed recreational catch limit for HMS
	$100/fish over the limit, up to 5 fish, plus abandon/seize overage
	$200/fish over the limit, up to 5 fish, plus abandon/seize overage
	NA

	Failure to register an HMS tournament
	$2000
	NA
	NA

	
Failure to report recreationally caught Atlantic Bluefin tuna, swordfish or billfish (non-tournament)
	 
$500
	 
NA
	 
NA

	Importing, exporting or re-exporting bluefin tuna, southern bluefin tuna, frozen bigeye tuna, swordfish or shark fins without an international trade permit
	

$4,000
	NA
	NA

	Importing, exporting or re-exporting bluefin tuna, southern bluefin tuna, frozen bigeye tuna or swordfish without the required documentation 
	
$2,000
	NA
	NA

	
Failure to timely submit required reports of imports, exports and re-exports of bluefin tuna, southern bluefin tuna, frozen bigeye tuna or swordfish 
	
$1,000
	
$1,500
	
NA

	
Possession of live baitfish, maintenance of live baitfish in a well or tank, or attachment of an aeration or water circulation device  to any such tank or well onboard  a pelagic longline vessel in the Gulf of Mexico

	$3,000
	NA
	NA

	
Failure to release Atlantic HMS in the manner specified
	
$500
	
$600
	
$750

	
Commercial seafood dealer/seafood processor - possess HMS without required documentation
	
$1,000
	
$1,500
	
NA

	Retain a billfish by a vessel with a pelagic longline aboard or harvested by gear other than rod and reel
	$1,000
	$1,500
	NA

	
ANTARCTIC MARINE LIVING RESOURCES PROTECTION ACT


	Submission of application for preapproval to import frozen Dissostichus spp. later than required, but prior to import
	$2,000
	$3,000
	NA


	MARINE MAMMAL PROTECTION ACT

	Feeding a marine mammal in the wild
		
	
$500

	
NA

	
NA


	Level A/B Harassment – other than feeding (e.g., direct contact of marine mammals by humans, unauthorized removal/rescues, allowing pets to harass marine mammals, or any other action that causes a significant change or response in a marine mammal's behavior)
	

$100

	

$500
	

NA

	Import canned whale meat:
		1 to 5 cans:
		
                        6 to 10 cans:
	
$250* 

$500*
*plus abandonment of whale meat
	
$500*

$1000* 
*plus abandonment of whale meat
	
NA

NA

	Unauthorized importation, possession, sale, purchase, and/or transport of marine mammal parts or products (non-commercial entities or for personal use)
	$250
	NA
	NA

	Failing to register any bones, teeth or ivory of any dead marine mammal collected from a beach or from land within 1/4 of a mile of ocean.  The term ocean includes bays and estuaries.  
	$100
	NA
	NA

	Failure to report the taking of a marine mammal (all vessels on List of Fisheries)
	$750
	NA
	NA

	Failure to register for annual Authorization Certificate (MMPA Category I and II fisheries only)
	$750
	NA
	NA

	Failure to have MMPA Take Authorization Certificate on board vessel (MMPA Category I and II fisheries only) (issued and current, but not on board)
	Fix-It Notice (onboard prior to next trip)
	$250
	$500

	Failure to display annual MMPA decal
	Fix-It Notice (onboard or requested prior to next trip) 
	$250
	$500

	Fail to use gear required by ALWTRP
	$500
	NA
	NA

	
INTERNATIONAL DOLPHIN CONSERVATION PROGRAM ACT (MMPA TITLE III)


	Recordkeeping, reporting, or Fishery Certificate of Origin requirement violations: Minor Violations (e.g., fail to submit report)
	$500
	$500
	NA

	




LACEY ACT


	Commercial  violations
(involving contraband fish or wildlife valued less than $10,000)


	Inadequate or improper marking of containers containing fish 
	Fix-It Notice (immediately properly mark container)
	$250
	$500

	To import, export, transport, sell, receive, acquire, or purchase in interstate or foreign commerce – (A) any fish or wildlife taken, possessed, transported, or sold in violation of any law or regulation of any State or in violation of any foreign law.  
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	Within the special maritime and territorial jurisdiction of the United States -- (A) to possess any fish or wildlife taken, possessed, transported, or sold in violation of any law or regulation of any State or in violation of any foreign law or Indian tribal law.
	$2,000
	NA
	NA

	To attempt to commit any act described in paragraphs (2) and (3) of  §3372(a)
	
$2,000
	NA
	NA

	
Recreational violations


	To import, export, transport, sell, receive, acquire, or purchase in interstate or foreign commerce – (A) any fish or wildlife taken, possessed, transported, or sold in violation of any law or regulation of any State or in violation of any foreign law.  
	

$500
	NA
	NA

	Within the special maritime and territorial jurisdiction of the United States -- (A) to possess any fish or wildlife taken, possessed, transported, or sold in violation of any law or regulation of any State or in violation of any foreign law or Indian tribal law.

	$500
	NA
	NA

	
ENDANGERED SPECIES ACT


	
Approach right whales or fail to take required right whale avoidance measures

	Recreational

	Commercial
	



$500

$1000
	




NA
	




NA

	Collecting parts (Endangered or Threatened)
	$250
	NA
	NA

	Import/Export for personal use (Endangered or Threatened)
	$500
	NA
	NA

	Harassment (Endangered or Threatened) or an attempt to do so
	$750
	NA
	NA

	
HIGH SEAS FISHING COMPLIANCE ACT OF 1995


	
Fish on the high seas without a valid high seas permit

	
$1000 plus forfeiture of unlawful catch or payment of FMV
	
NA
	
NA




Effective Date: October 1, 2014

