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SOUTHEAST REGION SUMMARY SETTLEMENT SCHEDULE 

VIOLATION VIOLATION HISTORY – PENALTY AMOUNT 
FIRST SECOND THIRD 

 
MAGNUSON-STEVENS ACT  

 
Undersized and/or Filleted and/or over limit (including 
zero bag limit and closures) 
 

   

1-10 illegal fish $250 + $25 per fish 
(refer to State LEA 
whenever possible) 

same same 

 
 
11-20 illegal fish 
 

 
$500 + $25 per fish 

 
same 

 
same 

21 - 50 illegal fish $750+ $25 per fish same same 
Exceed Commercial  Trip Limits (including zero bag 
limit commercial closures) (except ITQ) 

    

The overage exceeds the catch limit by less than 50% OR has a 
fair market value up to $500 

                 $500  same same 

The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND 
has a fair market value of between $500 and $750  

$750 $1,000 $1,250 

The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND  
has a fair market value between $751 and $1,000 

$1,000 $1,250 $1,500 

The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND 
has a fair market value between $1,001 and $1,250 

$1,250 $1,500 $1,750 

The overage exceeds the catch limit by more than 50% AND 
has a fair market value between $1,251 and $1,500 

$1,500 $1,750 $2,000 

Trawling     
Texas closure (Incursion less than 1 NM or less than 1 hour 
before opening date and time): First Violation Only 

$2,500   

Southwest Florida seasonal trawl closure:  First Violation Only $2,500   
Shrimp/Stone Crab separation zone:  First Violation Only $2,500   
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Trap Construction: Subsequent violations: 1 - 20 traps (Note: 
FIN program for first violation) 

$100/trap same same 

Net construction: Subsequent violations  (See also FIN 
program) 

$500 $750 same 

Bycatch reduction device (BRD) - not installed, sewn shut, 
dysfunctional 

$750/net same same 

Act Without  a Permit/limited Entry  
Share/Endorsement/Authorization (not to include 
shareholder and/or vessel allocation) (See also FIN 
program) 
(Dealers & Fishermen & Vessels)

    

Moratorium Permits:  First Violation Only where the permit 
was never issued  

$3,000   

Limited Access and Expired Moratorium Permits $750 $1,000 $1,500 
General/Open Access Permits   $500 same same 
Dealer Failure to Report after receipt of notification 

of late reporting $750 for 
each overdue time period 
charged up to 6 time 
periods; this category can be 
used again after 1 year 
without same charged 
violation   

$1,000 
for each 
overdue 

time 
period 

charged 
up to 6 

time 
periods  

   

$1,500 
for 

each 
overdue 

time 
period 

charged 
overdue 
up to 4 
time 

periods  
Fish Without an Observer When Required:  First Violation 
Only 
  

$2,500   
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MARINE MAMMAL PROTECTION ACT 

Feeding a marine mammal in the wild 
 

$250 (recreational) 
 

$1,000 (commercial) 
 

  

Harassing a marine mammal   
 
 

$100 (recreational) 
 
$500 (commercial)  

 

  

Unauthorized importation of marine mammal parts or products 
(non-commercial imports/personal use) 

 
$250 

  

 
Unauthorized sale, purchase, and/or transport of marine 
mammal parts or products (non-commercial entities) 

 
$250 

  

Failing to register any bones, teeth or ivory of any dead marine 
mammal collected from a beach or from land within 1/4 of a 
mile of ocean.  The term ocean includes bays and estuaries.   

 
$100 
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ENDANGERED SPECIES ACT 

Turtle Excluder Device Violations 
(Although law enforcement should document and educate on all 
violations they could issue only one summary settlement 
amount per net based on the most serious violation found on 
that net.  For example: If law enforcement found 3 level one 
violations on net 1 they could issue a summary settlement for 
$100 for net 1.  If law enforcement found 2 level one violations 
and 1 level two violation on net 1 they could issue a summary 
settlement for $500 for net 1.) 

   

Any Level I violations including: 
 
TED ANGLE  > 55 to < 58 degrees  
 
BAR SPACING Bent bar - > 4” to < 6” 
 
NETTING  Hole / gaps in TED netting < 2” 
 
DOUBLE COVER (DC) OPENING 
 
1  Forward Cut  19” to < 20”  
2 Flap attachment > 24” to 36”  
3 OVERLAP  > 15 to 16”  
4 Leading Edge Cut 54” to < 56”   
 
71” OPENING 
 
1 Forward Cut  18” to < 26”  
2 Flap length  > 24” to 36” beyond posterior edge of 
grid  
3 flap attachment > 6” to 12” beyond posterior edge of grid 
4 Leading edge Cut 54” to < 71”  
5 Escape opening 64” to < 71” 

$100 (per net) $100 (per 
net) 

$100 
(per 
net) 
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44” INSHORE OPENING 
 
5 Escape Opening 42” to < 44” Horizontally  
   15” to < 20” Vertically 
(Numbers correspond to Step Numbers on NOAA’s Guide for 
Checking TEDs, available at 
http://www.sefsc.noaa.gov/labs/mississippi/ted/regulations.htm)
Any Level II violations including: 
 
TED ANGLE  58 to < 61 degrees 
 
BAR SPACING Bent bar – 6” to < 8” 
 
NETTING  Holes/gaps in TED netting 2” to 4” 
 
FLOTATION  Undersized floats on bottom 
shooting TEDs 
 
 
 
DOUBLE COVER (DC) OPENING 
 
1 Forward Cut  16” to < 19” 
2 Flap attachment > 36” 
3 OVERLAP  > 16” to < 18”  
4 Leading Edge Cut 52” to < 54” 
 
 
71” OPENING 
 
1 Forward Cut  16” to < 18” 
2 Flap length  > 36” beyond posterior edge of grid 
3 Flap attachment > 12” beyond posterior edge of grid 
4 Leading edge cut 52” to < 54” 
5 Escape Opening 44” to < 64” 

$500 (per net) $500 (per 
net) 

$500 
(per 
net) 
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44” INSHORE OPENING 
 
5 Escape Opening 34” to < 42” Horizontally 
   10” to < 15” Vertically 
(Numbers correspond to Step Numbers on NOAA’s Guide for 
Checking TEDs, available at 
http://www.sefsc.noaa.gov/labs/mississippi/ted/regulations.htm)

 


